Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
WEBINAR: Popular Material Attributes
Register Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
 

 Export to Your Calendar 12/17/2018
When: Monday, December 17, 2018
2:30 pm CST/3:30 pm EST/12:30 pm PST
Where: United States


Online registration is available until: 12/17/2018
« Go to Upcoming Event List  

AMERIPEN Webinar

Popular Material Attributes: How Well Do They Actually Predict Environmental Benefits?

Monday, December 17 | 2:30-3:30pm CST (3:30-4:30pm EST, 12:30am-1:30pm PST)

Businesses, policy-makers, and the general public often rely on simple attributes to inform material selection. These attributes – such as “recyclable” or “compostable” – are widely assumed to result in reductions in environmental impacts. But how valid are these assumptions? The Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) recently asked that question and was surprised to discover very little systematic assessment of these popular attributes. So it commissioned a study that reviewed the last 18 years of global research into the environmental impacts of packaging and food service items with and without four popular attributes: recycled content, recyclable, bio-based, and compostable. Collectively, the literature identified relative environmental impacts for thousands of comparisons, from which some important trends emerge that should inform product design, procurement, policy, and waste management programs. David Allaway and Minal Mistry of Oregon DEQ will present the study motivation, methodology, results and recommendations.

David AllawayDavid Allaway

David Allaway is a Senior Policy Analyst at the Oregon Department of Environmental Quality’s Materials Management Program. At DEQ, David leads projects related to sustainable consumption and production, materials (including waste) management, and greenhouse gases. He contributed to Oregon’s 2050 Vision for Materials Management and served as an invited science advisor to Wal-Mart’s Packaging Sustainable Value Network. Before joining in 2000, David worked for 11 years in the solid waste consulting industry. David currently serves as an advisor to Project Drawdown.

Minal MistryMinal Mistry

Minal is the business initiatives lead with the Oregon DEQ. He works with a wide range of entities to implement strategies for Oregon’s 2050 Vision for Materials Management. His primary focus is on helping businesses produce and consume materials in more sustainable ways. Minal supports research, planning, and implementation for Vision-related strategies. Minal’s professional experiences include life cycle assessment, environmental testing, IT, and technical training. Prior to DEQ, Minal worked with the Sustainable Packaging Coalition where he provided technical assistance and consulting for implementing Design for Environment (DfE) strategies for consumer packaged goods.


Investment:

This webinar is free for AMERIPEN members, TAG Group members and the public.

 

 

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal
This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.