This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Join   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In
News & Press: Latest News


Tuesday, June 23, 2020   (0 Comments)
Share |

WASHINGTON, DC – June 23, 2020

Members of AMERIPEN, the American Institute for Packaging and the Environment, recently appointed new Officers and elected new Board members.

The new Officers are:

President – Scott Byrne is Market Sustainability Manager in the US and Canada for Tetra Pak, a world leader in packaging and food processing solutions. With an extensive background in all aspects of environmental management and recycling he helps ensure that Tetra Pak is on the cutting edge of sustainability initiatives. Scott most recently served as Vice President on the AMERIPEN Executive Committee.

Vice President – Mike Prentiss is Senior Manager of State Government Relations for the Procter & Gamble Company. Mike oversees day-to-day government relations activities in 30 U.S. states for Procter & Gamble. He also sits on the Board of Directors of the New England Council, the Massachusetts Business Roundtable and the Chemical Industry Council of Illinois. Mike most recently served as Treasurer on the AMERIPEN Executive Committee.

Treasurer – Cathy Foley is Vice President of Industry Relations and Supply Chain for Pratt Industries, a producer of 100% recycled content corrugated boxes and packaging solutions. Her experience in the packaging arena includes policy development and execution at the international, federal and state levels, as well as technical background, communications/marketing and environmental /recycling/sustainability throughout the supply chain.
Susan Robinson with Waste Management will continue to serve as Secretary for the AMERIPEN Executive Committee.

The new Board members are:

Robert Flores is Vice President of Sustainability at Berry Global where he is responsible for leading the company’s efforts to achieve their ambitious Impact 2025 sustainability strategy. Rob works with many other global sustainability leaders as part of the Ellen MacArthur Foundation New Plastics Economy working group and the Alliance to End Plastic Waste. A long-time recycling advocate, he has been an active member of the Association of Plastic Recyclers since 2009 and has subsequently worked with several other local, national, and global organizations to foster a circular economy.

Tracy Mihas is Senior Director of State Government Relations at the Kellogg Company where she is responsible for managing the company’s government relations program in 50 states with an emphasis on states and localities where Kellogg has a presence. Tracy has over 20 years of experience in state government relations for consumer products companies. She currently serves on the Board of Directors for the Food Industry Association of Executives (FIAE) and the Michigan Manufacturers Association.

Michael Okoroafor is Vice President of Global Sustainability and Packaging Innovation for McCormick where he is responsible for the strategic direction, policies, development and execution of agricultural, ingredient, product and packaging sustainability, as well as packaging innovation capabilities globally. Mike is an innovation leader and has over 40 patents to his name and a career that, in addition to McCormick, has spanned prominent roles within PPG, The Coca-Cola Company and Heinz. On October 15, 2018, he was inducted into the Packaging and Processing Hall of Fame at PACK EXPO International.

Jennifer Ronk is North American Sustainability Manager at Dow where she works with a broad range of stakeholders to keep plastic out of the environment, make sure that it has another life, and inspire as many others as possible to help build a circular economy for plastic. Before joining Dow, Jen worked in the for-profit and non-profit sectors where she developed, implemented and managed programs for a wide range of sustainability topics, including reducing contamination, supporting clean energy and climate change policy, sustainable transportation, renewable energy, energy efficiency, and habitats.

Kelly Smith is Director of Government and Institutional Affairs for Ferrero USA where she handles nutrition and sustainability issues, supporting the company’s growing footprint in the United States and coordinating with Ferrero colleagues around the world. Previously, Kelly worked in the same space at Keurig Dr Pepper (KDP) where she helped develop the company’s policy positions on everything from marketing to children to packaging stewardship. She started her career at the American Beverage Association (ABA) where she worked in government affairs at the local, state and federal level and handled the association’s environmental portfolio.

Returning Board members are:

Lee Anderson – General Mills
Terry Grill – Seal Air Corporation
Laura Rowell – Sonoco
Mariagiovanna Vetere – NatureWorks

President Scott Byrne said, “I want to thank Lee Anderson, our outgoing President, for his leadership and commitment to AMERIPEN. I look forward to continuing our strong advocacy work centered around effective policy discussions and highlighting the value of packaging. Finally, we owe a very special thank you to Jeff Wooster with Dow who is cycling off the Board after having served on it for 10 years, most recently as Immediate Past President. Thank you as well to Ritika Kalia with Dow who has also completed her term on the Board.”

more Calendar

How COVID will disrupt packaging design and policy – Salon and Speaker Series

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal